CONUS is an acronym for “contiguous United States,” which includes the 48 US states on the continent of North America (that are south of Canada) including the District of Columbia. OCONUS is an acronym for outside the contiguous United States, which includes Alaska, Hawaii, and US territories and possessions, such as Puerto Rico.